Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 116

Thread: Got the Galaxy note II

              
   
  1. #51
    Sticky's Avatar
    Sticky is offline Regular User
    Status: Meh
     

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    98,033
    Rep Points
    23,254.9
    Mentioned
    1435 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    233


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by BlackJetE90OC Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Yeah, I was sold the second I held one in the stores. I kept hearing some people saying it is too big (they probably have little man hand syndrome). It is actually perfect size, the size makes it feel more secure and comfortable to hold. And yes that extra screen size makes a huge difference surfing the web or watching videos.

    I just need to find one off contract with a clean ESN.
    I was walking around with it at the LA Auto Show today and maybe 10 people stopped me to talk about it and comment how awesome it was.

  2. #52
    Sticky's Avatar
    Sticky is offline Regular User
    Status: Meh
     

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    98,033
    Rep Points
    23,254.9
    Mentioned
    1435 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    233


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by sr20seb Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Yeah Sticky did you try the phone out a bit before you bought it? Or did you just order it?
    I did basic research, tried it out, and was sold.

  3. #53
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    537
    Rep Points
    1,300.2
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I was walking around with it at the LA Auto Show today and maybe 10 people stopped me to talk about it and comment how awesome it was.
    I bet that didn't ever happen with that crappy iPhone you used to call a "cell phone"
    Click here to enlarge

  4. #54
    Sticky's Avatar
    Sticky is offline Regular User
    Status: Meh
     

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    98,033
    Rep Points
    23,254.9
    Mentioned
    1435 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    233


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by sr20seb Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I bet that didn't ever happen with that crappy iPhone you used to call a "cell phone"
    Nope, never.

  5. #55
    Yukohama's Avatar
    Yukohama is offline Slow Car
    Status: Nothing
     
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    2,273
    Rep Points
    930.0
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    10


    Reputation: Yes | No
    cause too many people have iphones lol. Great choice sticky. I'm waiting for a marginally smaller phone to come out packing the same hardware
    Click here to enlarge

  6. #56
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,000
    Rep Points
    875.5
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    9


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Yukohama Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    cause too many people have iphones lol. Great choice sticky. I'm waiting for a marginally smaller phone to come out packing the same hardware
    I heard the Galaxy S4 comes out in March.
    ​#Chuckstrong

  7. #57
    Sticky's Avatar
    Sticky is offline Regular User
    Status: Meh
     

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    98,033
    Rep Points
    23,254.9
    Mentioned
    1435 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    233


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Could someone tell me how to unlock the tethering on this thing?

  8. #58
    folgrz's Avatar
    folgrz is offline Stop looking at me SWAN!!
    Status: Colombia for the 2014 World
    Cup!
     

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    1,587
    Rep Points
    2,188.1
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    22


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Could someone tell me how to unlock the tethering on this thing?
    Who is your carrier?

    apparently AT&T locked this feature and you have to root your phone in order to enable wifi hotspot/tethering
    2006 AW/Black ZCP 6MT


    Click here to enlarge


    E46 M3 Owners of the World <---- Join the FB group!!


    Instagram :: @NotSMG_M3

    Click here to enlarge

  9. #59
    Sticky's Avatar
    Sticky is offline Regular User
    Status: Meh
     

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    98,033
    Rep Points
    23,254.9
    Mentioned
    1435 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    233


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by folgrz Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Who is your carrier?

    apparently AT&T locked this feature and you have to root your phone in order to enable wifi hotspot/tethering
    AT&T unfortunately.

  10. #60
    Itsbrokeagain is offline Member
    Status: Hi5
     

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Valley Stream NY
    Posts
    3,177
    Rep Points
    2,600.5
    Mentioned
    81 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    27


    Reputation: Yes | No
    I stopped using my iPad too. The phone just outdoes it.

  11. #61
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    537
    Rep Points
    1,300.2
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Could someone tell me how to unlock the tethering on this thing?
    Yes root access is required. This site tells you a step by step on how to unlock the USB WiFi tethering on the AT&T Note II. It also has a link on how to get root access on the phone as well. If you decide to do this just be careful, go slow, read all the directions. As they say: "Measure twice, cut once"

    http://www.andromods.com/tips-trick/...e-ii-i317.html
    Click here to enlarge

  12. #62
    Sticky's Avatar
    Sticky is offline Regular User
    Status: Meh
     

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    98,033
    Rep Points
    23,254.9
    Mentioned
    1435 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    233


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by sr20seb Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Yes root access is required. This site tells you a step by step on how to unlock the USB WiFi tethering on the AT&T Note II. It also has a link on how to get root access on the phone as well. If you decide to do this just be careful, go slow, read all the directions. As they say: "Measure twice, cut once"

    http://www.andromods.com/tips-trick/...e-ii-i317.html
    Thanks.

  13. #63
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    537
    Rep Points
    1,300.2
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Well did you do it?
    Click here to enlarge

  14. #64
    Sticky's Avatar
    Sticky is offline Regular User
    Status: Meh
     

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    98,033
    Rep Points
    23,254.9
    Mentioned
    1435 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    233


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by sr20seb Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Well did you do it?
    Funny I was just about to post in this thread Click here to enlarge Just finished rooting it, super easy followed this guide: http://galaxynote2root.com/galaxy-no...asiest-method/

  15. #65
    Sticky's Avatar
    Sticky is offline Regular User
    Status: Meh
     

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    98,033
    Rep Points
    23,254.9
    Mentioned
    1435 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    233


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by sr20seb Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Well did you do it?
    Still haven't gotten the tethering working yet though. I'll work on it tomorrow.

    I can also just download a tethering app can't i?

  16. #66
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    537
    Rep Points
    1,300.2
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    1 out of 1 members liked this post. Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Still haven't gotten the tethering working yet though. I'll work on it tomorrow.

    I can also just download a tethering app can't i?
    After rooting you have to flash the zip file from the site that "unlocks" the tethering. Then look for this option that says "Tethering & portable hotspot" like it says on my phone:

    Click here to enlarge

    Which should then give you the options to do these:

    Click here to enlarge
    Click here to enlarge

  17. #67
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    537
    Rep Points
    1,300.2
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Almost forgot, Swiftkey which is the best android keyboard ever will be releasing a new one called Swiftkey Flow, this is what it does. The beta is now open so you can just go to their site and install the app and start using it: http://swiftkey.net/flow/

    Click here to enlarge

  18. #68
    Sticky's Avatar
    Sticky is offline Regular User
    Status: Meh
     

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    98,033
    Rep Points
    23,254.9
    Mentioned
    1435 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    233


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by sr20seb Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    After rooting you have to flash the zip file from the site that "unlocks" the tethering. Then look for this option that says "Tethering & portable hotspot" like it says on my phone:

    Click here to enlarge

    Which should then give you the options to do these:

    Click here to enlarge
    Which zip is it and how do I flash that zip? That's the part that's confusing me.

  19. #69
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    537
    Rep Points
    1,300.2
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Which zip is it and how do I flash that zip? That's the part that's confusing me.
    It's linked at the website I mentioned in post #61.

    If you rooted the phone and have confirmed it that it's rooted, your next step is #2, get the GooManager app from the Google app store. This app comes with a script that you need to install which in turn will allow you to flash the zip file that you get in the next step. In step #3 he provides the link to the zip file that you will need to have on your phone and move it to the SD card. It seems pretty simple now, the hardest part was to root the phone. Just look over those steps a few times and don't miss anything. Good luck!!!
    Click here to enlarge

  20. #70
    Sticky's Avatar
    Sticky is offline Regular User
    Status: Meh
     

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    98,033
    Rep Points
    23,254.9
    Mentioned
    1435 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    233


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by sr20seb Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    It's linked at the website I mentioned in post #61.

    If you rooted the phone and have confirmed it that it's rooted, your next step is #2, get the GooManager app from the Google app store. This app comes with a script that you need to install which in turn will allow you to flash the zip file that you get in the next step. In step #3 he provides the link to the zip file that you will need to have on your phone and move it to the SD card. It seems pretty simple now, the hardest part was to root the phone. Just look over those steps a few times and don't miss anything. Good luck!!!
    Yep I have the zip, I have goo manager, my only problem is the TWRP main menu. Where do I get this TWRP thing?

  21. #71
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    537
    Rep Points
    1,300.2
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by Sticky Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Yep I have the zip, I have goo manager, my only problem is the TWRP main menu. Where do I get this TWRP thing?
    I would think that from within goomanager you click install recovery script that will give you the TWRP window.
    Click here to enlarge

  22. #72
    Sticky's Avatar
    Sticky is offline Regular User
    Status: Meh
     

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    98,033
    Rep Points
    23,254.9
    Mentioned
    1435 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    233


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by sr20seb Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I would think that from within goomanager you click install recovery script that will give you the TWRP window.
    Do you mean click reboot recovery? The main menu doesn't say install recovery, it looks like this:

    Click here to enlarge

  23. #73
    Sticky's Avatar
    Sticky is offline Regular User
    Status: Meh
     

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    98,033
    Rep Points
    23,254.9
    Mentioned
    1435 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    233


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by sr20seb Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    I would think that from within goomanager you click install recovery script that will give you the TWRP window.
    Ok I figured out I had to press the menu button (duh) then I clicked install recovery script and it installed. I turned off the device and did the three button press to get it to the android screen but it just sits there saying do not turn off target.

    Am I supposed to use Goomanager to reboot into recovery instead?

  24. #74
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    537
    Rep Points
    1,300.2
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    14


    Reputation: Yes | No
    Well, the thing is that I'm reading the instructions and not sure if you're skipping some steps or what. I'd need the phone in my hands to see what you see for me to give you a better answer and that I don't have. But hopefully you've figured it out by the time I respond to this.

    But it says to go into custom recovery, turn the phone off, and then use a combination of 3 keys to get into the TWRP screen. Then flash the zip file from the sd card.
    Click here to enlarge

  25. #75
    Sticky's Avatar
    Sticky is offline Regular User
    Status: Meh
     

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    98,033
    Rep Points
    23,254.9
    Mentioned
    1435 Post(s)
    Rep Power
    233


    Reputation: Yes | No

    Click here to enlarge Originally Posted by sr20seb Click here to enlarge
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    ut it says to go into custom recovery, turn the phone off, and then use a combination of 3 keys to get into the TWRP screen. Then flash the zip file from the sd card.
    This is what I did but it just brings me to the Odin screen. I'll try again, I'm doing it exactly as you are saying. Turn it off, 3 keys, but I don't get the TWRP screen.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •